Driver’s Education and Driver’s Training demystified for new teen drivers.
The basic DMV requirements for future teen drivers between the ages of 15 ½ and 17 ½ are detailed below.
Driver Education and Driver Training Information:
Driver Education and Driver Training courses must be conducted as prescribed by the Department of Education. Driver Education (classroom training) must consist of at least 30 hours or 2 1/2 semester periods of professional classroom instruction. In addition, an a DMV approved online Driver Education may be taken instead of the tradition classroom. Our school offers this, as well! Driver training must consist of at least 6 hours of behind–the–wheel (BTW) professional instruction. (Source DMV website)
You may be able to take Driver Education classes at your high school. If it’s not offered or you can’t get in the class, you can sign-up for our online or in-classroom courses. Driver training (BTW), on the other hand, is not offered in most high schools in California, so that’s where we are here to help.
We are a professional school in California, and we are licensed by the DMV (#E4643). We carry liability insurance, are bonded, and maintain complete records for DMV inspection. Our teaching cars are subject to inspection every 6 months. Our instructors have passed qualifying examinations and regularly attend continuing education classes and training to stay abreast of new traffic law changes and traffic safety.
You can find more information by clicking on the link below, which will connect you to the official DMV website.
Parents please note that in addition to the 6 hours professional behind-the-wheel training, you are responsible for an additional 50 hours of practice, including 10 hours of night driving. Please don’t allow your child to enter the roads unsupervised until they are ready!